24.6 C

Senate Confirms Five As INEC Commissioners

Must read

The Nigerian Senate on Tuesday confirmed the appointment of five National Commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

This was done following the consideration of the report of its Committee on INEC.

The nominees of the President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd), who were confirmed were, Prof. Muhammad Sani Kallah (Katsina); Prof. Kunle Ajayi ( Ekiti); and Saidu Ahmad (Jigawa), Baba Bila (North East) and Abdullahi Zuru (North- West).

Also, the Senate, following the recommendation of its panel, stepped down the confirmation of Professor Sani Adam from North Central because of the petitions against him.

Meanwhile, the upper legislative chambers has rejected the nomination of the Personal Assistant on Social Media to President Muhammadu Buhari, Lauretta Onochie as a Commissioner of INEC.

READ ALSO: President Buhari Hosts Senators To Dinner

The presidential aide was rejected following the report by Senator Kabiru Gaya-led Senate Committee.

According to the committee, Onochie’s nomination breaches Federal Character principles.

Kabir Gaya cited Section 14 (1) 3 of the Constitution, stating that somebody was already a Commissioner from her zone, and the law remains clear about that.

The committee said there is currently a serving commissioner from Delta state, where Onochie hails from.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article